China Medical University (CMU) was the one of the first medical colleges set up by the CCP in 1931. It is among the top ten medical universities all over the country. Formerly administered by the MOH, in 2000, its administration was taken over by the MOE and Liaoning Province. It is in Shenyang-the largest metropolis in northeast of China. The campus is around 445 acres, many famous medical experts and high-ranking officials in national health administration graduated from here, and some are practicing medicine in foreign countries like America, Japan etc.

In the university, there are 28 departments involving medicine, education, science, engineering, philosophy and management. CMU has strong academic strength in medical teaching, offering five state key disciplines, 12 MOH clinical key specialties and 27 provincial key disciplines, while the clinical medicine ranks the 8th in China. It also contains 2 state research bases, 1 MOE key laboratory, 1 state key laboratory cultivation base co-built by MOST and the province, 4 MOH key labs, 3 national bureau of traditional Chinese medicine research laboratories (level 3), 11 provincial key labs and 1 National Treatment Rescue Center etc. It has three affiliated hospitals and 1 specialized hospital that have a total of 8,027 beds and 105 dental comprehensive treatment chairs.

The staff team in CMU contains 7,630, combining 6,126 professionals, 1 academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering, 448 senior professionals, 676 associate senior professionals, 205 doctoral tutors and 562 master tutors.

CMU first began teaching medicine in English medium in 1976 and the MBBS programs in English and Japanese languages in 2005, was approved by MOE in 2007. Its MBBS program in English medium has reached a leading level in China and won high international reputations. Currently, there are more than 475 international students from the United States of America, Japan, the Republic of Korea, and Southeast Asia, Africa, Europe on campus.

CMU has exchange relationships with more than 78 universities and research institutions from Japan, the United States, Britain, France, Russia, South Korea, Canada, Australia, Italy and Denmark.

CMU is recognized by WHO and the graduates of MBBS program are eligible to take the Medical Licensing Examinations held by the medical councils in different countries such as MCI, PMDC, USMLE, HPCSA, SCHS etc.